Earth Day… Every Day

I’ve been hearing and reading a lot about Earth Day, in the news, and on other blogs, and I have to admit I find it depressing. Why do we need one special day to celebrate our beautiful planet, and to admit the trouble she may be in, all thanks to the lovely monkey-like creatures who inhabit her sphere? These so-called intelligent, self-absorbed, oh so important ‘whomans’, who think they somehow have the right to be the wicked, evil overlords of everything else on the planet. Who have the ingenuity to invent some big guy in the sky who tells them it’s alright to do what they wish, when they wish, to whomever and whatever they wish as long as you do it within certain rules and regulations. Boy, they’re clever.

Why one day?? Only??? Shouldn’t we be living our lives as if every day is Earth Day? It’s not the big things that we do, it’s the little things.

And where the hell are the corporations on Earth Day? Price of gas is through the roof, President Monkey of our dearest nearest neighbor wants to drill for oil in an Alaskan Wildlife Refuge, our own king is in bed with the big oil here in North America, ready to plunder any part of Canada for any last drop.  For oil.  WTF???  Anyone else see anything wrong with this picture??

Despite my pessimism here, I wish everyone could experience the same feeling I do when I grow a tomato plant from seed. Or when my beautiful brugs finally bloom. I wish I could take Stephen Harper and show him the big wriggly worms in my garden, and have him be as impressed as Meghan was!! Have George Bush see a polar bear in its habitat (face to face? -okay, maybe that’s a little mean – to the polar bear!), and see respect for the wildlife.  I just really don’t understand the underlying motivation that drives people to disregard the planet earth and all the other life forms on it. I get the greed, the political pressure, the drive for more-more-more, but there is just something fundamentally unearthly about that kind of person. And at the core, I just don’t get it! In some ways it is like the person who is mean just because they can be. Nothing you did, and it’s nothing personal, they just get a kick out of being mean. We’ve all met people like that. And I think a lot of our politicians, and the backroom players are fundamentally unearthly, and mean.

All I can say is ” I am sorry, Mother Earth.  For all of us and for what we do, to you and yours.”

And hope, that like a mother, she will forgive us and love us despite our failings and ineptitude.